Conference announcement

Gold C (Comp) cmgold at
Thu Apr 14 17:11:21 PDT 2005




              CALL FOR PAPERS





4th ISPRS Workshop on Dynamic and Multi-dimensional GIS


  University of Glamorgan, Pontypridd (near Cardiff)

                Wales, UK


            September 5-8, 2005

            dmgis05 at


(This Conference is scheduled to facilitate the attendance at the ISPRS
Workshop on Laser Scanning 2005 the following week in Enschede, the








The 4th ISPRS Workshop on Dynamic and Multi-dimensional GIS is a
continuation of the three previous ones held in Hong Kong (1997),

(1999) and Bangkok (2001). (The 2003 conference was cancelled because of

SARS.) It is being sponsored by ISPRS Inter-Commission Working Group
II/IV, "Dynamic and Multi-dimensional Systems and Applications".


The workshop itself will be held on September 6-8, 2005, but a free
tutorial entitled "Two- and Three-dimensional Topological Methods in

will also be given on September 5. Further detail will be put on the
website soon.


The workshop series was started because of the perceived need for an
emphasis on the future directions of GIS, in particular dynamic GIS and
3D GIS, which were not adequately emphasized elsewhere. It is meant to
be an interdisciplinary forum for leading researchers in related areas
to present the latest developments and applications, to discuss
cutting-edge technology, to exchange research ideas and to promote
international collaboration in this field. Key issues include:


1) Current GIS data models and modelling methods are basically designed
to handle 2D static spatial objects. It is difficult for them to
represent dynamically changing 3D spatial scenarios.


2) The maintenance of topological relations and data access for
multi-dimensional data is much more complicated than for 2D data.


3) For multi-dimensional spatial data, new methods need to be developed
for data interpolation, analysis, visualization and human-computer





- Conceptual and logical spatial data models

- Multi-scale and multi-media representation

- 3D, and 3D+time, spatial data modelling

- Digital terrain modelling

- Spatio-temporal models

- Time in GIS

- Visualization

- Dynamic data modelling

- Spatial analysis

- Applications

Submissions in other related areas will also be considered.





Submission of abstract/expression of interest:    May 1, 2005

(must be done in order to submit the full paper)

Submission of full paper:                         May 15, 2005

Notification of Acceptance:                       July 10, 2005

Early Registration:                               July 20, 2005

Camera-ready version of papers:                   July 25, 2005

(conference registration required to submit final version)

DMGIS'05 Workshop:                                September 5-8, 2005





Proceedings will be published in the International Archives of
Photogrammetry, Remote Sensing and Spatial Information Sciences of the





Details of the conference fees and accommodation will be posted on the
website soon.





Authors are invited to submit papers describing original research in the
fields previously mentioned. All submitted papers will be referred for
quality, originality and relevance by the Scientific Committee. The
acceptance or rejection of a paper will be based on the reviews.


Papers must be written in English and must be formatted strictly
according to the ISPRS guidelines. The maximum length is restricted to 6
pages, including all figures and references. There will be a fee for
each extra page. Templates (in MS Word and LaTeX) to prepare a
camera-ready version can be found on the website.


Details concerning the electronic submission of abstracts and papers
will be available on the website soon.





Christopher Gold (Chair) - EU Marie Curie Chair, University of Glamorgan
Zhilin Li (Co-chair) - The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
Jun Chen (Co-chair) - National Geomatics Centre of China Wolfgang Kainz
- University of Vienna, Austria Mir Abolfazl Mostafavi - Laval
University, Canada





Andrew Frank            Anne Ruas

Chen Jun                Chris Jones

Christophe Claramunt    Darka Mioc

Jack Snoeyink           Kirsi Virrantaus

Leila De Floriani       Manfred Ehlers

Marc van Kreveld        Mark Gahegan

Martien Molenaar        Menno-Jan Kraak

Milan Konecny           Mir Abolfazl Mostafavi

Peter Burrough          Peter Fisher

Peter van Oosterom      Poul Frederiksen

Qiming Zhou             Randloph Franklin

Robert Weibel           Ron Li

Leila De Floriani       Monika Sester

Stewart Fotheringham    Wen-zhong Shi

Wolfgang Kainz          Zhilin Li





Please direct any questions to: dmgis05 at




Christopher Gold

School of Computing, University of Glamorgan Pontypridd CF37 1DL Wales,

tel: +44 (0)1443 654265

fax: +44 (0)1443 482715



-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...

More information about the Compgeom-announce mailing list