Steering committee term ends; call for nominations

Marc van Kreveld marc at
Tue Jun 24 18:36:57 PDT 2003

Dear CG Community,

        You may recall that the Computational Geometry Steering
Committee was elected in August of 2001 for a term of two years.
It is therefore time to elect a new committee. As the secretary
of the Steering Committee I write you now to call for nominations.
The current committee is:

                Nina Amenta
                Jeff Erickson
                Dan Halperin
                Marc van Kreveld (secretary)
                Joe Mitchell (chair)

The committee organizes the annual SoCG (Symposium on Computational
Geometry), conducts its business meeting, serves as liaisons to other
organizations (e.g., FCRC), and so on.
        I will conduct the election in the same manner as before.
Any member of the community may nominate any other member by sending
e-mail directly to me by the deadline (see below). Nominations of
past committee members are allowed.  It is not necessary to
check with those whom you nominate.

        After nominations have been received, I will contact those
nominated and ask them if they are willing to serve. A list of
candidates will then be prepared and circulated via compgeom-announce.
The community will be asked to vote for five from the list. The five
with the most votes will then become the new Steering Committee.
It will be up to them to select a Chair and otherwise organize
themselves. The new Steering Committee will serve for three years.

        To nominate someone, send email to

                marc at

with Subject: "Nomination" before Thursday July 31, 2003. We look
forward to hearing from you!

                                Marc van Kreveld

The compgeom mailing lists: see
or send mail to compgeom-request at with the line:
send readme
Now archived at

More information about the Compgeom-announce mailing list